One of the problems when you have coeliac disease is that you hear rumours that something you thought was safe might not be. Sometimes these turn out to be true (Smarties), other times not.
I had heard that some of the Frappuccinos in Starbucks might be a problem. and a Google search for Gluten Free Starbucks brought pages from the US suggesting no to skinny syrups, hot chocolate and the strawberry and cream fraps. But you learn that what’s safe in one country might not be in another, so I asked them myself. Surely the Choc Chip Cookie Frap would be a no-go, how about anything else?
Well below is the response I got:
Thank you for contacting Starbucks.
I can confirm that none of our hand crafted beverages currently available in our stores are made with ingredients that contain wheat or gluten.
We also have a selection of food items which are made from ingredients free of wheat and gluten to enjoy with your beverage.
Currently this includes:
- Gluten Free Ham Cheese and Coleslaw Roll
- Fairtrade Chocolate Brownie (please request a wrapped product)
- Chocolate Hazelnut Loaf Cake (please request a wrapped product)
- Fruit Salad
- Creamy Natural Yogurt
- Very Berry Compote (condiment for yogurt)
- Maple and Honey Sauce (condiment for yogurt)
- Fairtrade banana
- Two varieties of Fruit & Nut Bars
- Nut Mix
- Roasted Almonds
- Sea Salt Potato Chips
- Fairtrade Chocolate bars – Dark and Milk
Please ask the barista in store if you are unable to locate these items.
We appreciate your interest in our product range and look forward to welcoming you into your local store.
Thank you for taking the time to contact us and we look forward to welcoming you back to your local store soon.
So all hand-crafted drinks (as of today, might change in the future) are ok. That means I can continue to waste my money on Peppermint Lattes and Caramel Fraps.